Sen's daily

April 27, 2014

Interview with an expelled Bahai student gives insight into expulsions, the BIHE, and studying abroad

Iran Rights, March 26, 2014

Iran Rights has published a report on two interviews with Parham Aqdassi, which I warmly recommend to readers. Mr. Aqdassi was a nuclear physics student at Hamedan’s Bu Ali Sina University from late September, 2006, when he was one of the first Bahai students to be allowed to enter a university. He was expelled on December 24, 2006, when he refused to renounce his Bahai beliefs. This was in accordance with the Cultural Revolution High Council’s directive of February 25, 1991, Article 3, which states that Bahai students are banned from pursuing higher education. Many students staged a sit-in protest. Mr Aqdassi went on to study and graduate from the BIHE, the Bahai Open University, which provides limited university-level education for students barred from studying at other tertiary institutions. He describes his studies there, the attacks on the BIHE institutions by security forces, and his decision to travel to Texas to take a Master’s course.

The full report in English is online here.

Short link: http://wp.me/pNMoJ-1Za

Older items can be found in the archive, here. Even older news is here.


1 Comment »

  1. Since I have returned from a visit to Iran, I guess I can freely express my opinions without worries about the Internet searches of the Ministry of Information 😉 Sen-san, all of your postings wound me a little. I wish I could do something to compensate for their current suffering. So I tried to join the US Peace Corps, but my application was turned down, possibly because I expressed how important my religious faith is. Possibly they don’t want people of religious convictions to participate, how ironic considering the tenets of the US Peace Corps. I pray that I will be able to leave Japan in the next year. But I have yet to decide where to go..

    Comment by KomaGawa — April 28, 2014 @ 15:11 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

